Holy Scrap!

I am a crafter. Whenever I hear about a new craft store I get all aflutter. I was with some friends last week and they mentioned this scrap yard slash craft store, and my heart skipped a beat!

Scrap is a donation-based warehouse for raw materials and scrap supplies. I visited this hidden gem today and I was mesmerized. It was like a gymnasium-sized yard sale!! There were aisles of fabrics, wood scraps, metal parts, art supplies, and thousands of other miscellaneous items! I just wandered around thinking about all the projects I could create. I saw a bin of buttons and thought about gluing them to a picture frame. And the shelf of cheap, broken tiles were begging to be made into a mosaic.

Scrap is not for the faint of heart. It’s dirty and smelly and crowded. If you are a paint-by-numbers, Michael’s-loving kind of crafter, you may be overwhelmed by the chaos. But if you’re the kind of artist who looks at garbage and sees a masterpiece then Scrap is definitely for you!

Scrap
http://www.scrap-sf.org
801 Toland St
It’s hidden in the industrial part of town so you have to ask Siri to help you get there.

20130906-165022.jpg

20130906-165030.jpg

20130906-165048.jpg

20130906-165054.jpg

20130906-165118.jpg

20130906-165124.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather at PinkPolkaDotDiary
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 15:21:21

    This place looks cool. I actually love to pick up pieces off the street and re-do them. SF was (& now Berkeley is) the perfect place to find stuff that no one wants but you can make into your own!

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 18:51:37

      I didn’t know Berkeley was good for side-of-the-road finds. I love picking up junk and pinterest-ing it!

      Reply

  2. Joanne
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 18:27:14

    Oh how craft-tabulous – what an incredible find – may your fingers be twitching from all that could be and shall be created!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

