7 things I miss about Georgia

Because I write a blog about SF, I feel like I’m supposed to be mega in-love with this city all the time. But that’s not the case. There are times when the concrete wears on me, and the hustle and bustle gets me down. Today in particular, I’m feeling homesick, and I’ve got Georgia on my mind…

1. Seasons

When I lived in Georgia, summer seemed to last for ages. It would be so hot hot hot, for months. And October would arrive and it was still hot. And then one day, I’d walk out of the house and be like “Hmmm, I need a light jacket today”. That was my favorite day of the year! It was that desperately-awaited break from the heat.

San Francisco is known for its “great weather”. It is 65 degrees and mostly cloudy every. single. day. Jeans + sweater + scarf. Every. single. day. Check the weather in Jan, May, Aug, or Oct and it’s always 65 degrees and I’M SICK OF IT!

2. Georgia Tech Football

I avoid Facebook following the Homecoming game. If I sign on and see my friends wearing white and gold, marching down the hill, and cheering on the Jackets, it makes my heart ache. I watch all the games still, but it is nothing compared to seeing them play in Bobby Dodd Stadium. This past week was band camp, and I got so nostalgic seeing all of @GeorgiaTechBand‘s pictures.

Screen Shot 2013-08-17 at 6.50.28 PM

Bobby_Dodd_Stadium

21953_659570638119_472402_n

3. Cheap Rent

Ask anybody to name the thing they hate most about SF. They will say the rent, the rent, the rent. The fact that I have to pay $1800 per month for a 1BR 600-sqft apartment is ridiculous. But the worst part is that my rent is cheap compared to the city average! This place is surrounded by water on three sides, so there’s no more room for more apartments. That causes the supply/demand model to be completely broken.

I know people who live in Georgia and pay less than half what I do, and they have a ton of space and closets and a DISHWASHER!! Click here to see a map of San Francisco with the average rent for a 1BR apartment. 

4. Barbecue

If I describe my perfect day, it would include a backyard, a cold beer, and the smell of charcoal. I can’t think of anything better. I don’t get barbecue very often here in SF because (a) no one has a backyard, (b) it’s too cold, and (c) it’s not really that important. I have dreams about pulled pork with a side of baked beans. I love the feeling of sticky BBQ sauce all over my fingers and face. Mmmm, I really miss the taste of juicy, smokey, grilled-all-day pork!

pork sandwich at country’s barbecue, columbus ga

5. Swimming

How can I miss swimming when I live 3 miles from the ocean? I’ll tell you. The Pacific Ocean is like ice water and I wouldn’t even stick my toes in!

I grew up with a pool in the backyard, a lake house close by, and the beaches of Panama City just 4 hours away. I could swim while I was still in diapers, and I didn’t stop until I moved away. I have so many fond memories of the summers I spent at Lake Martin… skiing, lounging in the sun, and eating fresh picked blueberries. Some of you are probably sitting by the pool, with your toes in the water, reading this blog on your ipad right now!

1185524_659089634103405_1427557469_n

lake martin alabama. photo was taken by my mamma.

194960_462475180431519_1110383560_o

6. Spanish Moss 

I was in Georgia this past June, at Sea Island. One afternoon I took a bike ride down a street that was canopied in oak trees and spanish moss. It was so peaceful and calming, and filled my heart with joy… I felt like I was home. The old oak trees remind me of a simpler time… you know, the era of “sitting on the porch and drinking sweet tea” that they sing about on country radio. On top of all that, spanish moss always makes me think of Savannah, which is one of my favorite cities in the world.

audobon-park-spanish-moss

7. My Family

The only reason why I love Georgia so much, is because my family is there. My family has had celebrations and tragedies this year. I’ve tried to be there as much as possible, but I’ve also missed a lot! The little things like birthdays, and game nights. I spend a lot of time pondering the pros and cons of living in SF. I love this city, but today the fact that I’m missing my family is outweighing the good.  At the end of the day, it’s not the city where you live but the people you’re with that matters most.

IMG_4678

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katyrenz
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 22:01:15

    Mmm okay, this is so great. #1– YES. #3– YES. #4– have you been to Memphis Minnie’s yet? Our favorite BBQ (so far) in the city. #5– I’m excited that we’ll be having our Alabama reception on Lake Martin, I’ll have to hear all your tips and stories about it before I go 🙂

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:55:51

      Lake Martin is the best!! It’s so beautiful and peaceful. Every time I visit, I just wanna quit my job and move there permanently.

      Reply

  2. missoulagrace
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 16:51:13

    I am a blog lurker, I admit it. But this post makes ME miss the south, and I am not even from there. 🙂

    Reply

  3. yomomma
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 15:43:02

    You are so loved, and missed also. Everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

