If my brother came to visit…

My brother says that he and his wife want to come visit. Sometime in 2014 maybe. So now my juices are flowing and I started thinking about what we would do while they’re here. They have both seen the notable tourist sites (bridge, wharf, etc) so that means I could go off the beaten path a little.

If my bro and sis-in-law were my guests, it would be different than having my parents as guests, because they’d sleep on my futon. When my parents come to visit, they prefer to stay in a hotel, so that changes the “home base” of the weekend. I assume I’d have two days with them, so here’s my plan:

Day 1 –

Breakfast at Toast.
I like Toast because it’s yummy breakfast without all the snobbery of brunch.

20130511-143043.jpg

Shopping in Noe Valley.
There are so many cute shops on 24th street. I really like the quirky bookstore, the pajama store, and Sribbledoodles!

Grab lunch at Ike’s Place .
You know I like Ike! Maybe I need to go tomorrow.

Eat a picnic and play at Dolores Park.
You basically get all of SF represented in one stop at this park. If it’s a pretty day, we’d see, um… everything.

IMG_5848

Ice Cream at Bi-Rite Creamery.
Mmmm I have dreams about crunchy coffee toffee.

Dinner at Taquiera Cancun
Seriously. Everyone needs to experience the world’s greatest burrito.

burrito mojado

 

Day 2 – 

Light breakfast at home. Load up on protein!

Hiking at Muir Woods
This park is wonderful, plus the added bonus of driving over the GG Bridge.

IMG_6089

Lunch at Pelican Inn or Parkside Cafe.

Nap.

Tour Anchor Steam Brewery
because beer.

Dinner at Goat Hill Pizza.

20130611-184013.jpg

I chose several geographic “pockets” so we don’t have to rely on a car. I have a Mission District pocket on Day 1 and a Potrero Hill pocket on Day 2 because that’s where Anchor Steam is located. Then we get to eat the best pizza in town.

To my brother: this plan is not set in stone so let me know if you wanna change it. Also, please come soon because I want to do all this cool stuff with you! Xoxo

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thehungryartist
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 09:14:59

    Cute!
    That burrito looks amazing! I miss northern California!

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 09:17:36

      Thanks! The burrito is yummy. I usually vow that I’m only going to eat half but then I can’t help myself and I scarf down the whole thing!

      Reply

  2. Yomomma
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 08:45:26

    I’m coming too! Better check the weight limit of the futon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

