Greater things, part 2

Today I had the privilege of serving at City Impact. The church I attend, Epic Church, canceled all services all sent us out to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

I wrote about City Impact two years ago, when I had the opportunity to serve with another congregation. I can’t believe how much it’s grown since I was there. They have a new thrift store, a new medical facility, and a new kitchen for preparing meals. I am so amazed by the difference they are making in the lives of their neighbors.

The TL (the tenderloin) is a 1-sq-mile neighborhood with 37,000 residents and another 8,000 homeless. The average person makes less than $15,000 a year. (http://www.city-data.com/neighborhood/Tenderloin-San-Francisco-CA.html)

This morning there were 600 volunteers who showed up ready to spread the love of Jesus to the people of The TL (from Epic, Journey church, and MPPC). We gave haircuts, medical care, and food, plus many more. My team got to prepare over 1000 to-go lunches for the people in the area. I was so touched to see that Trader Joes and Costco had donated crates upon crates of food (huge high five to them!!). Someone else had given lettuce, strawberries and cantaloupe. I was so excited to know that people were going to open their sack lunch and find salad and fruit today!

I got to work with a bunch of great people today. I was so honored to be a small part of the work God is doing there.

City Impact’s website has changed. It’s now http://sfcityimpact.com/. Donate today!

20130511-143650.jpg

20130511-143723.jpg

20130511-143739.jpg

20130511-143931.jpg

20130511-143939.jpg

20130511-144249.jpg

Leave a Reply

