Aperto means open in Italian

I had dinner at an awesome Italian restaurant called Aperto (18th and Connecticut. www.apertosf.com). There are several restaurants at this corner that are all worth writing about, but I’ll have to do that another day.

image from apertosf.com

The first time I walked by this place, there was a couple sitting by the window eating a fabulous-looking dessert. A few weeks later some friends and I went to dinner, and I begged them to do Aperto with me.

It’s small, like every other restaurant in town, but thankfully they take reservations. They have a simple menu with only a few appetizers, pasta dishes, entrees, etc. And you know me, I like it when it’s easy to decide.

2012-12-11

I ordered the caesar salad, and the butternut squash ravioli. The caesar salad comes as three whole leaves of romaine, two crouton/crakers, a wedge of parmesean, and the dressing on the salad. So basically, you have to construct the salad yourself. I didn’t mind the extra effort, because it made the salad more enjoyable in the end. I am very picky about my caesars, so when I say it’s good, you should take me seriously.

IMG_3905

My butternut squash ravioli was TO DIE FOR! It was so creamy and rich. The sweet squash paired with the savory onions is pretty much my favorite. My two friends ordered the short ribs, and the risotto, and they both said their food was excellent!

Aperto has a really nice romantic atmosphere, and it’s perfect for a date or to show off to family. If my husband is reading this, I want to go to Aperto for Valentine’s Day! 😉

IMG_3906

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chicdejour
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 19:30:08

    thanks for sharing! will definitely try them out~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

