How to Host Thanksgiving in SF (part 2)

My family was in town for four days, and we crammed a lot of activity in those four days. So, I decided to spread it out to two posts.

They all arrived on Wednesday evening, and I wanted to take them somewhere unusual for dinner. My husband suggested an authentic Japanese ramen place called Katana-Ya (www.yelp.com/katana-ya at geary and mason). Well… um… we certainly achieved unusual. First of all, this place is TINY. You know, one of those places that seats 20, but there are 50 people in there somehow. Second, the whole menu was in Japanese, and the waitress was very pushy. I was so afraid that my family was gonna walk out.

But we finally figured out the menu, and we were able to order some ramen noodle soup, a calamari appetizer, and a few sushi rolls. The sushi was good, and the calamari was recognizable, and I was beginning to hope that things might be ok. And then, our soup came. And it was the most amazing soup in the world! We each ordered a different variation and they were all delicious! Goal of the evening: take my family to a weird restaurant and have them enjoy it. I’ll call that a success!

On Friday, we enjoyed the holiday hustle and bustle around Union Square. We saw the tree, the ice skaters, the pets in the windows, and we even drank peppermint lattes. I recognize that I have told you about Union Square many times now, so I’ll skip ahead to Friday evening’s festivities.

This whole week, the Castro Theatre is showing The Sing-Along Sound of Music. This movie is a family favorite, so I knew we had to go! They show the movie, but also put the words on the screen so you can sing along. Oh, and there are props!! This was truly a highlight of the whole holiday weekend. We had a great time singing at the top of our lungs and dressing up in costume. If you like the Sound of Music, you should definitely go see the sing-along version. Playing at the Castro until Dec 2. $15.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FloridaKimmer
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:22:04

    I was lucky enough to be a guest on this great weekend! Loved every moment. Thanks for all your great planning. Loved the diversity and fun! Can’t wait to read part 2! Who are those adorable men above in lederhosen! Oh wait! I know them! Sound of Music is a MUST DO for anyone that has the chance!

    Reply

  2. Allison B.
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:20:21

    That’s awesome! My parents would never eat at a place like that. My dad would say “where’s the steak?” Lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

