How to Host Thanksgiving in SF (part 1)

I have the world’s smallest kitchen, and no guest bed. How in the world did I host Thanksgiving? Very carefully, that’s how!

My family all stayed at the Serrano Hotel (www.serranohotel.com), so that solved the no-guest-bed problem. It was perfect for them to stay there because they were right in the heart of Union Square.

For our Thanksgiving meal, we decided to eat at a restaurant, so that solved the second problem. And since we didn’t have a meal to prepare, we had time on Thursday to enjoy the sights around the city.

Here’s a pro-tip: if you want to avoid the crowds at all the city’s tourist attractions, GO ON THANKSGIVING DAY!!! We went to Fort Point… yes, I know I take everyone there. I can’t help it, it’s my favorite! And this time, I gained even more affection for the spot because it was a beautiful day and there was no crowd!

Happy Thanksgiving from the Golden Gate Bridge!

After the enjoyable gawking at the bridge, we went to Alamo Square Park and had a picnic lunch. Again, great weather and no noise. We got sandwiches from Falletti’s Grocery Store (www.fallettifoods.com at broderick and fell), which is the nicest, quaintest, little store in all of SF. And it’s an easy walk to the famous park.

In the afternoon, we went up to the top of Twin Peaks. I didn’t realize how infrequently I go up there (I blame the wind). But I was shocked by the number of landmarks I could recognize from up there. There’s AT&T, Candlestick, TransAmerica, Treasure Island, etc.

 

And now, for the big finale. The Grand Pubah. The Thanksgiving feast to end all feasts. For dinner, we went to Bobo’s. Bobo’s is a famous steakhouse on the west end of Lombard St (www.boboquivaris.com). My family and I shared a glorious meal with wine, steak, dungeness crab, mac&cheese, and the most amazing desserts. I had the bone-in filet, and it was, without question, the best steak I’ve ever had in my life. And the best part was that I got to enjoy the day with my family, and not worry about cooking a meal.

the bone-in filet. 12 ounces of the tenderest, juiciest meat I’ve ever eaten!

dunce cap chocolate mousse cones

So if you live in a big city, and you’re thinking about inviting your family for a big holiday, know that it can be done. Our Thanksgiving was a little unconventional, but we had a wonderful time together, and I think we’ll do this again!

Leave a Reply

