I read an article that made me angry

I just read an article on Cracked.com that made me angry. It was titled “5 Reasons Why San Francisco is the Worst Awesome City in America”. I am not sure if the author was exaggerating or not, but either way, I feel the need to defend my city. I want my readers to know that, yes SF has it’s flaws, but it is also a beautiful city and worthy of a visit!

You can read the full article here. Warning: this article contains bad language and it will hog a lot of your computer’s CPU. http://www.cracked.com/blog/5-reasons-san-francisco-worst-awesome-city-in-america/

#5. Filth. 

The author of this article says there are homeless people everywhere, the whole city smells like urine, and people defecate wherever they want. Ok yes, we do have a large population of homeless, but I think they are flocking to the city because there are so many opportunities to get help. I personally support an organization called City Impact. This group provides meals, clothing, job training, and healthcare, to people in need. I know it’s hard to show compassion to the homeless, but I try to remember that they are human beings, and they deserve kindness and respect just like everyone else.

As for the smell, I am not going to lie to you. There are parts of the city that smell like urine. The area down by the ballpark/caltrain, in particular, has a pretty strong bouquet. But my neighborhood doesn’t smell, and there are several other areas that don’t smell either.

#4. Misguided Community Support.

In this section, the author describes a protest that took place on BART last year. The short version is, a man was killed by police, and the public disagreed, so they protested. This guy says the protest was bad because it shut down public transportation during rush hour. My opinion is: (a) people have the right to prostest, and (b) people have the right to prostest.

I wrote in an article a while ago saying that I actually admire SF’s activism. I gave the specific example of the AIDS awareness banner on Twin Peaks. It seems to me that the people of SF are constantly trying to make improvements, and I think it’s a pro not a con.

from sfgate.com

 

from SFgate.com

 

#3. Anarchy. 

The night the Giants won the world series, the city was in complete chaos. It was not our finest hour. And I’ll admit that our police force it short-staffed. But I don’t want you to think that this is Syria or Pakistan. Most of the time, there is nothing going on. The streets are calm and the neighborhoods are quiet. You can get to work without a problem. You are safe to walk around the streets.

#2. Indecent Exposure. (the author used a different word here.)

I live near the Castro. It is one of my favorite neighborhoods, mostly because of its famous theater. And I see naked people all. the. time. It was very shocking at first, but eventually I got used to it. I want you to understand that these people walk around without any clothes to get a reaction out of you. So you just have to  act like it’s no big deal. If you are offended by an extreme display of human flesh, just try to avoid the Castro, and DO NOT attend the Bay to Breakers. That’s all.

#1. Access to Horrifying Food.

LOL wut. San Francisco is famous for it’s food!! This guy talks about a restaurant in the city that serves a doughnut hamburger. That sounds amazing to me and I will write about it next week. Nuff said!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yomomma
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 11:32:50

    I love your positive outlook. You always see the good in people and places. And I have to agree with you. On our last visit to SF, we were impressed with the food, the people and how safe we felt walking around downtown. We learned quickly to avoid the unpleasant streets, because overall it really is an amazing place.

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 19, 2012 @ 11:37:40

      See, that’s my point! When you guys were here, Dad saw a guy relieving himself on the street, but he was able to look past it and see how great SF is. Thanks, Mom! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Dingle Fairy
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 20:33:06

    Yeah, that post by them bothered me too. Yeah, we do have some bad stuff, but his entry was completely over exaggerated.

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 18, 2012 @ 20:53:37

      I couldn’t tell if he was exaggerating either. I really hope so. San Francisco is a great place but I guess it’s not for everyone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

