Clams on a Pizza?

It was 2:00am, and I was starving. The kind of starving that causes me to think crazy foods are a good idea… like garlic clam pizza.

I had been at a party and hadn’t eaten anything since seven. And you know all that dancing and socializing worked up an appetite. So when I saw the glowing hand that said “pizza” – the beacon of hope, the neon answer to all my hunger pains – I bailed on the party and fled for the food.

Golden Boy Pizza is an icon in the North Beach neighborhood. At 2am, there was a line of 40 people waiting to fill their bellies with cheese-covered happiness. Many of them were actually shocked that I had never had the amazing pizza from Golden Boy.

All the pizza slices are square, and they are made on thick foccacia crust. That crust is a beautiful combination of crispy on the bottom and soft chewy in the middle. They serve all the normal flavors, like pepperoni and hawaiian, but they are famous for their Garlic Clam Pizza. And as a restaurant blogger, I jump for phrases like “famous for their”.

from culturebite.com. You should read this whole blog!

The square pizza slice was covered with roasted garlic, parsley, and fresh clams. I thought it was a great blend of interesting flavors. The cheese was fresh and the sauce was homemade. And as a texture person, I loved the chewy clams with the crispy crust!

Golden Boy Pizza is on Green St (at Grant). It is open till 2:30am on Fri and Sat, but I’m sure it’s delicious at normal hours of the day too!
www.goldenboypizza.com. “Where it’s hip to be square!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimetzel84
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 14:24:54

    I’m so glad I was able to describe how good it was! You should come visit and we’ll go!

    Reply

  2. Kim the Elder
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 14:21:09

    This is on my must go and do and eat list! Salivating all the way across the map in FL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

