Crazy for Christmas

Ready or not, here Christmas comes!
Thanksgiving is over, and that means we can officially go crazy for Christmas.  And you know San Francisco does not shy away from crazy.

Last Saturday was rainy and gloomy, but I braved the weather and went down to Union Square in order to get a glimpse of Yoda. Union Square is the shopping center of SF, so you can imagine that this is the first neighborhood to gear up for the holidays. Even though it was still November, the giant tree had been erected in the middle of the square, the ice rink was poured and frozen, Macy’s was decorated, and the sound system played Here Comes Santa Claus for all the hear. I felt like I’d stepped off the subway and found myself at the North Pole. “Hello Christmas!”, I said.

I did the Yoda thing first, since that was my whole objective for going. Then I wandered over to the rink and watched the people fall on their asses skate majestically around on the ice. If you want to skate, you can sign up for a 90-minute slot starting on every even hour. It costs $10 for adults and $5 the rent skates (unionsquareicerink.com). I know I promised that I would skate and then write about it but honestly… I’d rather not.

I wandered down to the Ghiradelli store because it seemed like a Christmas-y thing to do. I walked in the door and a young employee shoved a piece of peppermint bark into my face. Yum! Peppermint bark: the perfect mouthful of the holidays. And then I bought a pound of the stuff.

Macys’ store window is very similar to last year’s with adoptable dogs and cats on display. I was especially fond of the little terrier mix who was destroying playing with a giant stuffed Santa Claus. I know that Macy’s puts a lot of effort into their holiday display and it shows. But I also appreciate that they use their window to benefit a good cause like the animal shelter.

After all this winter excitement, I felt the only way to finish the afternoon was with a peppermint mocha from Starbucks (yes, I am a Starbucks whore). I sat on the bench overlooking the square and sipped my drink. As if on cue, a group of kids showed up in matching hats and began to sing holiday-themed rap music and dance along with the beat. The music was pretty terrible, but I was feeling festive so I smiled and clapped along. I was expecting to just swing through and take pictures of Yoda, but I ended up wasting a few hours in Christmas Land! Happy beginning of the holidays, everyone!

Leave a Reply

