The Mystery Spot

Today I took a trip south to the city of Santa Cruz. There I found The Mystery Spot. This spot is described as a gravitational anomaly that “you have to see to believe”.

The tour of The Mystery Spot started with its history. A man built his summer cabin on the side of a hill in the woods (very peaceful). Within a year, the cabin started sliding down the hill and eventually settled several feet away from its original spot.

The man started noticing weird things inside his cabin so he called Life Magazine. The article in Life brought crowds to his cabin to see the strange sight.

During the tour today, the first strange thing I noticed was the hill itself. It felt steeper than it looked and my legs felt heavy. When I went into the cabin, everybody in my group looked like they were leaning, but they all swore they were standing straight up.

Our tour guide showed us several other features of this strange place: balls rolled uphill, people of different heights could look each other in the eye, and a kid stood on a table and leaned over the edge without falling. It was very weird.

The tour is $5 per person, and it costs $5 to park. They only take cash, but you can make a reservation online at pay with plastic. You have to drive down a windy road through the woods, and FYI, gas stations are sparse in the area. You can find information and directions at www.mysteryspot.com

I dunno if I believe in the gravitational anomaly; I think it was probably just an optical illusion. But I can’t deny that I felt seasick inside the cabin. And my husband and I talked about it and speculated for a long time after we left. If you are looking for a good, clean, inexpensive activity, this is a good one. For me, it was totally worth the $5.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thehungryartist
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:36:07

    I went to school at UCSC, and I never made it here!! 😦 I wish I had…

    Reply

  2. Steve Decker
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 22:31:20

    If you look at the trees in the background it’s pretty clear the people are standing straight up and down, while the house is distorted.

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 31, 2011 @ 09:50:35

      Good point, Steve! Next time I go I’ll turn on the level feature of my camera so I can take pictures straight. Thanks for reading!

      Reply

  3. Maridonna
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 04:48:38

    Reply

    • kimetzel84
      Aug 28, 2011 @ 08:41:31

      That’s a great article! And I agree with it completely. The cabin is slanted so you have no reference for up and down. But it’s hard to tell yourself it’s an illusion when you see it! Hahaha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

