Castro Vertigo Francisco

I saw the movie Vertigo on Friday night. It’s one of Alfred Hitchcock’s classics and I’d seen it before. But this time I learned realized cared that it was filmed in San Francisco. There were scenes where James Stewart was driving through town and I actually recognized the streets and the landmarks!!

For example, there is an important scene that takes place at Mission Dolores Church. My loyal readers will know that I’ve been there!! James has a clear view of Coit Tower from his apartment, and at one point Kim Novak jumps into the San Francisco Bay.

This is a scene from the movie Vertigo. The photo comes from http://www.filminamerica.com/Movies/Vertigo/

Kim Novak’s character lives in a fancy apartment that I had never seen before. I wondered where it could be. Then I was driving around town on Saturday and I saw the building! I ’bout jumped out of my chair! It’s the Brocklebank Apartments on the corner of Mason and Clay.

Scene is from the movie Vertigo. Photo is from http://reelsf.com/pages/vertigo-1958

photo from my camera. june 2011

I really enjoyed seeing places that I recognized on the big screen. I also liked thinking that James Stewart walked these streets! So now I have a new obsession: movies filmed here in SF! Next up: Dirty Harry

I saw Vertigo at the historic Castro Theatre (http://www.castrotheatre.com. at Market and Castro). This is one of the old-timey theaters that is too awesome to play the main-stream blockbusters. On Fri night the theater was packed!! And the people in the crowd were hardcore Hitchcock fans so they laughed and applauded at all the right times. It was an absolute blast!!!

Oh, and the best part was the real live organ with pipes and everything and a real live organist that plays before the movie! He was amazing!

Before the movie, my husband and I ate across the street at Thailand Restaurant (http://www.thailandrestaurantsf.com. also at Market and Castro). You’ll probably have trouble remembering the name. But try to, because it’s so good.

My friend was in town this weekend. She really wanted to see the GG Bridge, so I took her to the spot where Kim Novak tried to kill herself in the movie. Morbid, right? The spot is called Fort Point (http://www.nps.gov/fopo/index.htm. the end of Marine Drive). I can’t believe that I’ve lived here 9 months and never went up there!! It gives you the most spectacular view of The Bridge that I have ever seen! I just wanted to stand there for hours in awe of the engineering feat. FYI there is a cafe and a gift shop up there but the bathroom situation is no good.

Okay that’s all for now. See you next week!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Hsieh
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 16:18:53

    Kim – Makes me want to rent Vertigo. It’s been a while since I’ve watched it. Love your blog. xoxo AA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

