11 Reasons to Love SF

All you need to fight homesickness is a change of attitude. I’ve been feeling homesick for Georgia, actually due to the weather. I grew up in Georgia, so I all know is hot and humid, and this chilly SF summer is weirding me out. I see pictures of my family at the pool while I have on a coat and scarf. It’s hard.

So in order to fight the longing for home, I am going to list the Top 11 reasons why I love San Francisco.

11. Food

There is so much good food here!… a million restaurants to try plus street vendors and food trucks! Hamburgers, Indian food, and dim sum! I found very few occasions to stop at McDonalds or AppleBees because there are so many other things I’d rather eat!

10.Telling People I live in SF

I really like talking to people from my past because they will inevitably ask where I’m living. I love the look on their face when I say I live in SF. They think I’m on some grand adventure. I’ll admit, it doesn’t always feel grand or adventurous, but I like to let them think that it is.

9. Diversity

I have met so many interesting people here. I feel like every ethnicity, and every lifestyle is represented here in the city (I have no data to back that up). Artist, businessman, hippie, hipster, Indian, Chinese, homeless, homosexual, rich, poor, and even the downright crazy! Exposure to different beliefs, lifestyles, and viewpoints has been a good thing; it has made me more compassionate and understanding of others. And I love that fact that intolerance is not tolerated. You may not agree with someone’s behavior, and that’s fine. But bullying or belittling is not allowed in this city. If I ever move away, I hope I don’t end up in a place where people are narrow-minded.

8. Go Green

SF is making a big effort to have Zero Waste by 2020. This means that I have 3 trashcans: regular trash, recycling, and compost. The city mailed out these fancy signs to hang over your cans to remind you what goes where. And people take it very seriously!

7. You can walk everywhere

The city is so compact (49 sq.mi.) you can pretty much walk everywhere… the bank, library, pharmacy, etc. It’s all so close! And if the weather is nice, people flock to the streets. You can see people walking their dog, going for a romantic stroll, or walking to dinner. So if you come to visit, be sure to pack your comfortable shoes.

6. Awareness and Activism

I have told you that I can see Twin Peaks from my apartment. This month, there is a big giant red ribbon on the mountain in honor of AIDS awareness. According to the SF Chronicle, “it was 30 years ago on June 5, 1981, when the CDC reported the first account of HIV/AIDS. Since then, an estimated 33.3 million people worldwide have been infected with the virus, with more than 1.7 million known cases in the United States.” The ribbon stands on the peak to remind us that we’re still fighting.

5. Healthy Lifestyle

I found a farmer’s market near my house and got really excited! San Francisco is all about fresh fruits and vegetables (locally grown, or course). And I always see people jogging or walking. Everyone seems so fit… it’s very inspiring!

4. Architecture

My mom suggested I should do a whole post on just the architecture of the city. I could talk about the Victorian style houses, the TransAmerica Building, and the churches. There is so much to see!

3. Friends Coming to Visit

“Hey Kim, this is so-and-so. I’m in San Francisco for a conference, and I was wondering if you’re free to meet up for dinner.” I feel like I have this conversation once a month. And I love getting to visit with my friends and family while charging it to their company (or better yet, the taxpayers!). So far, I’ve seen my parents, my father-in-law, and my GT band mom, just to name a few.

2. The Ocean, Beaches, and Shipyards

Why is the ocean so calming? Why am I able to stand on the shore and watch the waves for hours? It’s one of my favorite things in the whole world. And I’m not even sad that it’s too cold to swim. I love the ocean!! And I also like the shipyards, the giant cranes, and the big cargo ships! For some reason the whole shipping industry fascinates me!

“Sitting on the dock of the bay, watching the tide roll away…”

1. Everyone Else Loves it Here

I have talked to hundreds of individuals, and they all say that they love living here! They comment on the vibrancy and culture of the city. Someone always mentions the weather, and they all talk about the food. But in the 9 months since I moved here, I have never ever heard someone say, “I can’t wait to move away from this craphole.”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yomamma
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 06:35:08

    Kim- This is your best post, so far. I love the way you took a gloomy, homesick mood and fixed it by talking positive! Love you.

    Reply

  2. Amy Hsieh
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 22:05:37

    Kim – Summers in SF are cold. Septembers in SF are BEAUTIFUL!
    Come on down to the Peninsula in a few weeks – it will be nice.
    xoxo AA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

