The Answer to Life is a Sandwich

I found the answer to life the universe and everything. No. it’s not 42. It’s a sandwich.

Ike’s Place is a tiny little sandwich place near the corner of 16th and Sanchez (http://ilikeikesplace.com. 3489 16th St. Across the street from old site). There are at least 100 sandwiches on the menu, including at least 30 vegetarian options. All the sandwiches are grilled with the (soon to be) patented “Ike’s Dirty Secret Sauce” (read: crack sauce!) and fresh baked bread. I had the Menage A Trois, with 3 kinds of cheese and shredded chicken. My husband had the MILF that comes with chicken, buffalo sauce, and jalepeno poppers (yes, on the sandwich). They all cost around $10, but that includes a bag of chips and an apple/caramel sucker (nice touch, Ike!).

This place is a tiny hole-in-the-wall, but it’s really popular! There is usually a 2-hr line out the door and around the block. Note: I went at 4pm on Saturday and didn’t have to wait very long. I will admit that I was overwhelmed by the number of choices, but I quickly learned that that is normal. The lady in line behind me must have seen the confusion on my face, and offered to help me out. She was the one who recommended the sammies I bought. And the cashier was equally helpful. I think that the employees are trained to recognized the menu-confusion face. So when you go, don’t be embarrassed to ask fellow customers or the staff for help deciding. Thanks, Vinnie for telling me about Ike’s Place!!

In other news, I’ve decided to convert to Catholicism. I mean, look at this!!!

photo by cvent.com

Seriously, name one Protestant church that is this pretty on the inside.

Last weekend, I visited the oldest standing building in San Francisco. It’s a church called Mission Dolores (http://missiondolores.org. 3321 16th St. Officially, Mission San Francisco de Asís). The original building was built in 1791, but now exists only as a museum. The church services take place in the “new” building, built in 1918 (seen above). The old Mission Dolores chapel has survived two major earthquakes, and several minor ones. You can take a tour of the chapel, and the adjacent garden/cemetery for $5. It’s open daily from 9am-4pm.

the original chapel on the left (c.1791). new on right (c. 1918)

it's in excellent condition!

tranquil cemetery

You all know that I love church architecture, so I am a little peeved that there is a big stupid tree out front. I’ve half a mind to sneak by in the middle of the night and cut the tree down! But until then, I’ll just enjoy this photo from the library archives from 1947, i.e.,  before tree.

Photo taken in 2011. See the stupid tree?

photo taken in 1947

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimetzel84
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 18:26:15

    I really love Ike’s Place. I’m telling all my friends about it. Thanks for making great sandwiches!

    Reply

  2. Ike Shehadeh
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 14:14:34

    Kim! Thanks so much for writing about Ike’s Place! I’m happy that you had a pleasant experience–and I totally dig the caramel apple pops too! 🙂 Hope to see you in sometime soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

