Bay to Breakers

I had a friend write to me a couple weeks ago and make a request for this blog. He told me about this annual race in SF called Bay to Breakers that is, in his words, “unique”. I really wanted to attend, but  unfortunately, I was out of town this weekend. I did some research and found out that I should. not. miss this race next year.


This is the photo stream from the official Bay to Breakers Flickr account.

The Bay to Breakers is a 12K footrace in San Francisco that starts on the bay side of the city, near the Embarcadero, and ends on the ocean side (where the waves break). The event is well-known because a lot of participants wear crazy costumes, and drink lots of “gatorade”. Some even go nekkid. It was started as a way to lift the city’s spirits after the disastrous 1906 San Francisco earthquake. Now on it’s 100th birthday, it is the longest consecutively run footrace in the world (thanks, wikipedia!).

There are a few serious runners that show up, but they start first so the not-so-serious attendees don’t get in their way. Since I wasn’t able to attend, I can’t give my personal account. But I will give you a summary of the media coverage and try to get you excited to attend (with me) in 2012!

The San Francisco Chronicle reports that the police tried hard to let everyone party, but still keep order. “Police and security officers set up several “drunk tents” – the first at Hayes and Steiner streets by Alamo Square – where people who have imbibed too much were to be held until they sobered up.”

I really enjoyed this first-hand account from Pacifica Patch’s Editor, Camden Swita… “a man in a disheveled banana suit, its front stained orange, a pink-wigged woman clad in neon yellow spandex from head to toe yelling into her cell phone, an unsteady man wearing a bear suit with a crown..”

My favorite quote came from Beth Sportswood, who writes a blog for the SF Chronicle. “Smack dab in the middle of the intersection, they were slowly moving along when all of a sudden, a computer voice on the dance track deadpans, “Barbara Streisand.” Everyone, myself included, instinctively threw their hands into the air and danced. I couldn’t help it. As much as I thought I’d hate the whole thing, I was having fun.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damian
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 07:39:56

    What you said was very logical. But, think about this, suppose you
    typed a catchier title? I ain’t saying your information isn’t
    solid, however what if you added a title that makes people
    desire more? I mean Bay to Breakers Save Me, San Francisco is
    kinda boring. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create post headlines to get people to click. You might try adding a video or a pic or two to grab readers excited about what you’ve
    got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little bit more
    interesting.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Save Me, San Francisco

Leave a Reply

