This restaurant: you must go!

I am teeming with excitement to share with you the latest restaurant I went to. Last Friday, I went to lunch at Yank Sing (101 Spear St. It’s inside the Rincon Center. You can walk from Embarcadero station.  www.yanksing.com). According to my uncle, it is the best place to eat deem sum in the world. Deem sum (also spelled dim sum) is a chinese meal, that consists of  several small-sized entrees, including at least 4 types of dumplings (a.k.a. potstickers). It’s very similar to tapas. Waiters walk by with carts of dumplings, egg rolls, pork buns, and sesame balls, and you select what you want to eat from the cart (and then stuff yourself silly). Everything I ate on Friday was amazing! So if you just received your Christmas bonus and need a place to burn it [all], you must head down to Yank Sing!!

Last week, I posted pictures of the Macy’s Tree Lighting. I talked about the ice skating rink that’s in the middle of Union Square. Here is a birds-eye photo of the rink, taken during the day. I would like to go ice skating at some point. I’ll be sure to post more pictures if I do. Click to enlarge.

I have found something very interesting. So you all know that I have started a project that involves pictures of local churches. I am a big architecture lover, and churches are by far my favorite. I found out that my local library has old photos of San Francisco stored in their archives, all available for viewing online!! Two weeks ago, I took this picture of St Mary’s of the Assumption (below). Then I went online and found an older picture of the same church (more below). Can anybody guess what year it was taken? I still don’t know what I’m going to do with my church pictures. Right now, I’m just collecting. But I thought the old pix could add to my project somehow. Leave a comment if you have any ideas. (Here’s the link to all the SF pictures: http://sfpl.org/images/)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The site
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 11:53:01

    This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed
    what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Reply

  2. tshue
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 01:59:55

    The cars in front of the church make me think the picture was taken around the late 1960’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

