I Love Walking

I find new ways to love this city every day; most lately, I love it’s walk-ability. From my apartment, I can walk to the post office, the bank, Walgreen’s, the public library, a coffee shop, the supermarket, a laundromat,  and many happenin’-looking restaurants.

There was one day in September that I was hot inside (because I have no A/C) and decided to go for a walk. I went to the library, read a book for an hour, then I went to Walgreen’s and got some toothpaste, then got some ice cream. All of that was less than 3 blocks from home!! I recall another night when my husband and I wanted to go out to dinner. We walked down the street to The Little Chihuahua and ate nachos and drank margaritas. It was kinda romantic to leave the restaurant and stroll home. And you wanna know the best part? We could drink as much as we wanted and not have to worry about driving.

Why do I love walking so much?
(1) I hate abhor driving. Back when I lived in suburbia, a day of errands was the worst possible way to spend a day. Shopping is great, but it can be tainted by all the driving, parking, and fighting traffic.
(2) It’s good exercise.
(3) Deep down, we all want to live in Mayberry. We want to eat breakfast at the local diner where the waitress knows how we take our coffee. We want to have neighbors who’ll lend a cup of sugar. And, by golly!, we want to say hello when we pass a stranger on the street. In my mind, that’s the way it outta be. My neighborhood here gives me a glimpse of that kind of world and I love it!

And if there’s something I want to do that’s too far to walk, I just hop on a bus! It’s so great!

Here are my latest pictures. Today I went to the Mission Bay area to take pictures: home of the Giants and also TechCrunch. The picture below shows the Bay Bridge (the GG Bridge is orange) and the SF Bay. The second picture is a giant bow-and-arrow statue in the middle of the park (random?). I was really excited that the weather helped me out so I could capture these sights!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 11 Reasons to Love SF « Save Me, San Francisco

Leave a Reply

