A View From the Top

I am moving into my apartment this Saturday! The walls have been painted, the countertops replaced, and the carpets have been installed. Tomorrow I’m going up there to check things out. While I’m there, I’ll take some pictures of the inside so you can see what it looks like. Until then, enjoy this video my husband took of the the from our living room window!

I am realizing that I can’t tell you about every restaurant we visit. (A) Because I’m eating out a lot more than I thought I would, and (B) because the blog will get oversaturated with restaurant reviews. So, from now on, I will only tell you about the places that are *really* good and definitely worth your time.

Really good restaurant that is definitely worth your time #1: Panda Country Kitchen (www.pandacountrykitchen.com 4737 Geary Blvd). This is a hardcore, authentic Chinese restaurant (you can tell because there’s a fishtank at the entrance). The whole menu is in Chinese with little english translations to the side. When you sit down, the waiter brings you a kettle Chinese tea. I’m not sure exactly what Chinese tea is, I just know that it is wonderful! The menu has lots of dishes that you’ll recognize (orange chicken, broccoli beef, etc) and some things a little outside your comfort zone. I got the sweet and sour chicken, and my husband got kung pao chicken. Each meal comes with rice and a big bowl of Hot & Sour Soup (very yummy, but watch out. The soup kicks back). I recommend that you go at lunch because it’s cheaper. You can get 3 entrees for $19.99 (includes tea, soup, and rice). So you could go with 4 people and eat a “family-style” lunch for $19.99 (trust me, It’s enough food for 4). The food here is so good, and tastes authentic. It’s not heavy or greasy at all (like the Chinese food I’m used to). This place earns 5 out of 5 stars in my book.

I have been in California for 3 weeks. In that time, I have made an observation that’s radical and profound: no matter where you go, people are the same. I made this same observation last fall when I went to Italy. People are people. The ideas of family, hard work, faith, and compassion are universal. Take this story as an example. I was experimenting with the public transit system last week (I’m unemployed. I have lots free time). I paid $2 to get on the bus near our new apartment which took me to the subway station. There, I was supposed to use my bus ticket to get on the subway for free. Well, it didn’t work. There was a man standing behind me at the turnstile, so I asked him for help. He tried to swipe my bus pass, but was also unsuccessful. So he pulled his monthly pass out of his pocket and swiped me in… without even hesitating. I was shocked. I had this preconceived idea that people in California are crazy different that those in the “good ole south”. Well that is simply not true. There are nice people in San Francisco. If fact, I have encountered more nice people than crazy. So to all you native Californians, I apologize. Thanks for welcoming me to your state.

Church of the Day:

Leave a Reply

