BUMR

I saw this sign while walking down the street and it made me laugh. I don’t know the artist’s intent, but I interpreted like this: You’re driving along at an enjoyable speed, when you see a sign that says “BUMP” and what is your first thought? Bummer.

Yesterday I enjoyed a perfectly picturesque San Franciscan day. I sat at a cafe and drank coffee and blogged on my laptop (apple, of course). Then I went to the park and read my book and watched the dogs growl at each other…I mean, play. Then I went to an Italian restaurant for dinner. It was magnificent! The only complaint I have is the weather. At about 2PM, it was hot outside, and I was sweaty. Then around 8PM, the sun set and it got cold. And I mean COLD. Note: please don’t write anything in the comments about wearing layers. I understand the concept. My problem is that I had to carry my sweater around waiting for it to be chilly enough to wear it.

Duboce Park:

OK. The Italian restaurant. You know I’m gonna talk about it. It was called Cafe Altano (www.cafealtanosf.com 602 Hayes St.). The menu carried several standard Italian dishes, and the wine list was very impressive. My husband had pizza and said it was quite good, and I had butternut squash ravioli that seemed to melt in my mouth. It was very decadent. But I was very confused by this restaurant, and I don’t like to be confused. The sign out front was the beginning. The A’s in Altano looked like the greek letter lambda. Then you go inside and there are paintings from scenes off the coast of Greece. So what’s the deal? Greek decorations and Italian food? I guess they assume that most of their customers won’t be able to spot Greek decorations, and frankly, most people don’t know the difference anyway. Their slogan should be “Cafe Altano: Because Americans are Stupid.”

Church of the day:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 16:14:24

    I am loving this blog…..but I want more pics….take care of that for me KIM>..so how did the apt. hunting go?

    Reply

  2. Betsy
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:26:34

    Kim,

    Love the updates from SanFran, and especially the church pictures project. One suggestion: you should definitely keep a record of the names of the churches too – even if you don’t post them on your blog. It makes it more personal (like you probably wouldn’t take a picture of a person without introducing yourself and asking their name – or at least you shouldn’t) and you might notice trends/similarities among different kinds of churches.

    Stay well out there!

    Betsy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

