Oh The Things You’ll See

Yesterday, I went into the city for a job interview. Hooray! The interview went really well, and the people seemed very interested in me. I should hear something by Friday (so stay tuned). The coolest thing about this job is that it’s just a few blocks away from my husband’s job in the Mission District. So we could (potentially) get an apartment and both of us could walk to work (oh if only I had a crystal ball).

I had some free time before my interview, and spent the time wandering around and exploring the area. During my 45-minute walk, covering 5 square blocks, I saw more interesting things and people than I’ve seen in the previous 26 years of my life combined. I saw a dog in a doggie wheelchair, a fortress-looking building that was guarded by 5 beefy-looking dudes, a man dressed like a woman (at least I hope it was a man. Otherwise, she was a very unattractive lady), and an elliptical machine bicycle. Unfortunately, I don’t have pictures of any of these! But please don’t get worried about me. I have been educated about the parts of town to avoid, and I make sure to stay alert while walking around. No texting, talking on the phone, etc. And I’ve noticed that everyone pretty much keeps to themselves. They don’t want to be bothered, just the same as me.

While walking yesterday, I decided that I’m going to start collecting pictures of churches. I don’t know yet what I’m going to do with them, so for right now I’m just taking pictures. Check this one out that I saw yesterday! Isn’t it a beauty?

After my interview, I met my husband and some other guys at Mission Beach Cafe (www.missionbeachcafesf.com 14th and Guerrero St). We just had coffee, but the menu looks very appealing. A friend of mine says that the food there is really good, especially the Sat/Sun brunch (there’s usually a long line). I’ll have to go back I guess. We stayed in the city long enough to see the sunset, and then headed home to rest up for another exciting day!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ann
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 22:55:07

    You saw a doggie wheelchair?! Like in The Backup Plan? That’s awesome! I’m laughing out loud at your “I hope it was a man…” comment! I love the church photos idea! This one is pretty and I hope to see a lot more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

