I’m Here!!!

As of 11:15pm on September 16, 2010, I am a California resident.  Specifically, San Francisco, California.

The purpose of this blog is to show you how cool it is to live on the west coast. If it turns out to be uncool, I will delete this blog an apologize profusely.

Right now, I’m staying with family in Atherton, but eventually hope to live in downtown SF. I walked around downtown Menlo Park today. I got an iced tea at Peet’s Coffee and Tea, browsed the inventory at Foster’s Used Bookstore, and stopped in Cheeky Monkey toys.

Deciding on a name for this blog was especially difficult. I knew I wanted it to come from a song, but which one? I listened to “sittin on the dock of the bay”, and I love that song, but it’s not what I’m looking for. Carole King’s “back to california” is a great song, but this is my first time in CA, so I can’t say I’m going back. “Don’t forget to leave a flower in your hair”? What does that even mean? I even considered Tupac’s “California Love”… I was getting desperate at that point.

Finally! I found the perfect song to capture this blog and the way I feel about relocating!! I present, for your listening pleasure, “Save Me, San Francisco” by Train.

Here are the lyrics and the music video:

I used to love the tenderloin
until I made some tender coin
and then I met some ladies from Marin
We Took the Highway to the one,
up the coast to catch some sun
that left me with these blisters on my skin
don’t know what I was on,
but I think it grows in Oregon,
so I kept on goin going on right through
I drove into Seattle Rain
fell in love then missed the train
that could have took me right back home to you

I’ve been high, I’ve been low,
I’ve been yes and I’ve been oh hell no!
I’ve been rock ‘n roll and disco,
won’t you Save Me San Francisco’

Every day so caffeinated
I wish they were Golden Gated
Fillmore couldn’t feel more miles away
So wrap me up return to sender
lets forget this five year bender
Take me to my city by the bay!

I never knew all that i had,
now Alcatraz don’t sound so bad
at least they have a hella fine below
If I could wish upon a star
I would hitch a cable car
to the place that I can always call my own!

I’ve been high I’ve been low,
I’ve been yes and I’ve been oh, hell no!
I been rock ‘n roll and disco,
won’t you save me San Francisco’
I’ve been up, I’ve been down,
I’ve been so damn lost since you’re not around,
I been reggae and calypso
won’t you save me San Francisco’

To tell you the truth
I miss everything, everything
It’s a wild, wild beautiful world
but there’s a wide eyed girl back there
and she means everything, everything,

I’ve been stop
I’ve been go
I’ve been yes and I’ve been oh, hell no!
I’ve been rock and roll and disco,
won’t you save me San Francisco’
I’ve been up,I’ve been down,
I’ve been so damn lost
since you’re not around,
I’ve been reggae and calypso,
won’t you save me San Francisco

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 20:29:32

    Kim…this is too cool !! I will watch everything that is happening. Give Chad a hug for me and just live it up !!

    Reply

  2. Kim, the elder!
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 15:34:55

    Can’t wait to read all your posts. Love your humor and your honesty. Cool song, have never heard that one. Hope you find a place to call home soon. Also glad you have family to scoop you in while you are on the hunt. So weird to wait for your morning tweets now with the time change!

    Reply

  3. Ann
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 01:47:49

    I’m so glad you did this, and am excited to read as you write. It’s surreal…I hope you had the most fabulous first day in SF. It sounds like you did! I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

